top of page

Chapter History

The membership of Beta Iota Omega is alive, vibrant, creative and filled with ambition beyond the call of duty to render service to all mankind. The rich heritage and tradition of Alpha Kappa Alpha are evident in every facet of its operation. Beta Iota Omega was chartered on February 12, 1934 with six members. Those six charter members were Belle Tobias Curtis, Blanche Taylor Grant, Dorphenia Wingfield Hall, Mernell Graves London, Constance Hill Marteena, and Alma Powell White.  Dorphenia Wingfield Hall was the leader and the second President. Belle Tobias Curtis served as the first President. All charter members are now deceased.

Beta Iota Omega was the seventh graduate chapter established in North Carolina, the 59th chapter in the nation and the first graduate chapter established in Greensboro, North Carolina by Black college women. It is an outstanding component of the Mid-Atlantic Regional Conference. Since 1949, it has graciously performed its duties as host of Regional Conferences. Its members have served as Regional Conference committee chairmen, workshop presenters, and recorders. The chapter has consistently inducted women of sound character and accomplishment.

The chapter is proud of the fact that its membership includes members that have been Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated® Directorate officers, as well as members serving in leadership roles in Community/Civic Affairs, local and state government, including Mayor of the City of Greensboro, the Guilford County Board of Commissioners, North Carolina General Assembly, and North Carolina Secretary of Administration. The membership has grown from six to an average of over two hundred members.

bottom of page